Skip to content
Admission Mantra
Campus of Melbourne Polytechnic
Flag of Australia

Melbourne Polytechnic

Melbourne, Australia · Public · Est. Not stated on the Melbourne Polytechnic pages we checked

Updated 28 Oct 2026

Established

Not stated on the Melbourne Polytechnic pages we checked

Type

Public

Location

Melbourne, Australia

Ranking

Not ranked

Photo: Tirin also known as Takver (www.takver.com), CC BY-SA 3.0

About the university

Melbourne Polytechnic is a public TAFE institute in Melbourne's northern and inner suburbs, with its main campus at Preston. Alongside vocational certificates and diplomas, it teaches associate, bachelor's and master's degrees in fields such as accounting, business, IT, hospitality, civil engineering technology, early childhood education, agriculture, architecture and music.

Indian students look at Melbourne Polytechnic for lower-cost bachelor's and master's degrees in accounting, business and IT, with three intakes a year for most bachelor's degrees. It also runs an English for Academic Purposes pathway for student-visa applicants. It is not a university and is not in world rankings.

Type
Public TAFE institute teaching vocational certificates and diplomas plus higher education degrees
CRICOS provider code
00724G
Campuses
Preston, Fairfield, Epping, Heidelberg, Greensborough, Prahran and Collingwood, plus training centres at Beveridge and Wallan
Intakes
Bachelor's: February, July and November (some courses February and July). Master's: February and July
Scholarships
10% to 30% off tuition for some international students (course guide)

Rankings

    Popular courses with Indian students

    View all 10 courses with filters

    Fees for international students

    Course fees
    CourseDurationFee / year (AUD)Approx. in rupees
    Master of Information Technology2 years (Collingwood)A$26,000≈ ₹16.9 lakh
    Master of Professional and Practicing Accounting2 years (Preston)A$26,000≈ ₹16.9 lakh
    Bachelor of Information Technology3 years (Preston)A$26,000≈ ₹16.9 lakh
    Bachelor of Business3 years (Preston)A$22,560≈ ₹14.7 lakh
    Bachelor of Accounting3 years (Preston)A$22,560≈ ₹14.7 lakh
    Bachelor of Engineering Technology (Civil)4 years (Epping)A$26,000≈ ₹16.9 lakh
    Bachelor of Hospitality Management3 years (Preston)A$22,560≈ ₹14.7 lakh
    Bachelor of Early Childhood Education3 years (Preston)A$24,640≈ ₹16 lakh

    Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.

    Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at Melbourne Polytechnic with similar universities in Australia.

    Scholarships

      Admission requirements

      Undergraduate

      • Bachelor's degrees: Australian Year 12 or an equivalent overseas qualification such as Class 12, or an Australian diploma or recognised foundation programme.
      • Some courses need an interview (early childhood and education) or a set maths level (engineering technology).
      • If you are under 18 when you apply, you must turn 18 at least two weeks before the course starts.

      Postgraduate

      • Master's degrees: a bachelor's degree (AQF Level 7) or higher, or an equivalent overseas qualification.
      • If your qualification is not listed, Melbourne Polytechnic still asks you to apply and will assess it.

      Documents

      • Online application (or through an education agent)
      • Valid passport
      • Class 12 or degree mark sheets and certificates
      • IELTS Academic or PTE Academic result taken within two years of applying

      Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.

      English language requirements

      English requirements
      Test or routeTypical requirement
      IELTS AcademicBachelor's: 6.0 with no band below 5.5. Master's: 6.5 with no band below 6.0. VET certificates and diplomas: 6.0 overall. Education and early childhood degrees need more (6.5 to 7.0).
      PTE AcademicTests from 7 August 2025: bachelor's 47 (L40, R42, S39, W41); master's 55 (L47, R48, S54, W51); VET 47.
      Other testsOnly IELTS and PTE are listed on the international entry requirements page.
      English pathwayStudent-visa applicants below the score can get a conditional offer with English for Academic Purposes (EAP) at Preston (A$340 a week plus A$100 for textbooks in the 2026 guide). Finishing EAP gives entry without another test.

      Accommodation and living costs

      Melbourne Polytechnic has no student halls of its own. Its accommodation page lists typical private options and prices, and says it has not visited or endorsed them.

      Accommodation and living costs
      ItemIn AUDApprox. in rupees
      Shared accommodationBills may not be included; 2–4 weeks' rent in advance plus bondA$200–350per week≈ ₹13,000 – ₹22,750
      Student housing4 weeks' rent up front and a 4-week bondA$310–390per week≈ ₹20,150 – ₹25,350
      Rooming houseA$260–350per week≈ ₹16,900 – ₹22,750
      Campus MelbourneBookings of 4 weeks or more; utilities and internet includedA$364per week≈ ₹23,660

      Campus and location

      Melbourne Polytechnic teaches across seven campuses in Melbourne. Most degrees for international students are at Preston.

      • Preston: business, accounting, IT, hospitality and early childhood degrees, and the EAP English programme.
      • Epping: Bachelor of Engineering Technology (Civil).
      • Collingwood: Master of Information Technology (as listed in the 2026 course guide).
      • Other campuses: Fairfield, Heidelberg, Greensborough and Prahran, plus training centres at Beveridge and Wallan.

      Careers and graduate outcomes

      Melbourne Polytechnic's degrees are career-focused, but it publishes no graduate outcome figures on the pages we checked. See our Australia guide for post-study work rules.

      Graduate outcomes
      WhatFigureSource

      Studying in Australia

      Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in Australia. Our country guide covers them in detail:

      Other universities in Australia

      Compare all universities in Australia

      FAQs

      How much does Melbourne Polytechnic cost for Indian students?

      In the 2026 International Student Course Guide, bachelor's degrees in business, accounting and hospitality are A$22,560 a year, the Bachelor of IT and civil engineering technology are A$26,000 a year, and the two master's degrees are A$26,000 a year.

      When are the intakes?

      Most bachelor's degrees start in February, July and November. Master's degrees start in February and July.

      What IELTS score do I need?

      IELTS Academic 6.0 with no band below 5.5 for most bachelor's degrees, and 6.5 with no band below 6.0 for master's degrees. PTE Academic is also accepted.

      Are scholarships available?

      Melbourne Polytechnic says scholarships of 10% to 30% off tuition are available for some international students. Check its scholarship search before you apply.

      Sources

      Talk to our counsellor

      Ask about courses, fees, scholarships and your eligibility for Melbourne Polytechnic.

      IELTS / PTE status
      Best way to reach you

      #YouInspireUs

      Stories from our students and parents

      #StudyAbroadSample
      ft. Student nameMSc Data Science · United Kingdom

      #1 Student name

      MSc Data Science, United Kingdom · Study Abroad

      Sample text. A short story in the student's own words: how the counsellor helped them shortlist universities, understand the full cost and prepare their visa file.

      Design preview: sample cards show where real stories will appear. They are replaced by real students' stories (with written consent) before launch.

      All student stories