Skip to content
Admission Mantra
The Sydney Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge across the harbour water, with the city skyline on the right on a partly cloudy morning.
Flag of Australia

King's Own Institute

Sydney, Australia · Private · Est. Not stated on the KOI pages we checked

Updated 28 Oct 2026

Established

Not stated on the KOI pages we checked

Type

Private

Location

Sydney, Australia

Ranking

Not ranked

Photo: DXR, CC BY-SA 4.0

About the university

King's Own Institute (KOI) is a private higher education provider with campuses in central Sydney (Wynyard Green, York Street) and Newcastle (Cooks Hill). It teaches diplomas, bachelor's degrees, graduate certificates, graduate diplomas and master's degrees in accounting, business, information technology, information systems and TESOL. Its legal name is the Australian Institute of Business and Management.

Indian students look at KOI for lower-cost accounting, IT and MBA courses in Sydney, with three intakes a year. Fees are fixed for the length of your Confirmation of Enrolment. KOI is not a university and is not in world rankings. KOI also lists a Bachelor of Data Science and Artificial Intelligence and other Bachelor of Business majors, but these are not on its 2026 fee schedule, so we leave them out.

Type
Private higher education provider (Australian Institute of Business and Management, trading as King's Own Institute)
CRICOS / TEQSA
CRICOS 03171A; TEQSA PRV12012
Campuses
Sydney (Wynyard Green, York Street) and Newcastle (Cooks Hill)
Intakes
March, July and November (2027 dates: 1 March, 28 June, 25 October)
Subjects
Accounting, business, IT, information systems, data science and TESOL
Minimum age
18 (KOI does not enrol students under 18)

Rankings

    Popular courses with Indian students

    View all 14 courses with filters

    Fees for international students

    Course fees
    CourseDurationFee / year (AUD)Approx. in rupees
    Master of Information Technology (Data Analytics or Cybersecurity specialisation)2 years (4 trimesters over 2 calendar years; 104 weeks)A$18,000≈ ₹11.7 lakh
    Master of Business Administration2 years (104 weeks, 12 subjects)A$12,750≈ ₹8.3 lakh
    Master of Professional Accounting104 weeksA$16,500≈ ₹10.7 lakh
    Master of Information Systems (Business Analytics or Information Security specialisation)104 weeksA$15,000≈ ₹9.8 lakh
    Bachelor of Information Technology156 weeks (six trimesters)A$15,500≈ ₹10.1 lakh
    Bachelor of Business (Accounting)156 weeksA$14,500≈ ₹9.4 lakh
    Bachelor of Business (Management & Finance)156 weeksA$14,500≈ ₹9.4 lakh
    Master of Accounting78 weeksA$16,500≈ ₹10.7 lakh

    Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.

    Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at King's Own Institute with similar universities in Australia.

    Scholarships

      Admission requirements

      Undergraduate

      • Class 12 or equivalent: at least 55% for the Diplomas of Accounting and Management; 60% for the Diploma of IT and the Bachelors of Business (Accounting) and (Management and Finance); 70% for the Bachelor of Information Technology.
      • Overseas qualifications must be judged equivalent to the Australian qualification. KOI links a country-by-country PDF of minimum undergraduate entry requirements.
      • You must be 18 or older.

      Postgraduate

      • Graduate certificates, graduate diplomas and the Master of Professional Accounting: a three-year bachelor's degree (Australian AQF Level 7) or overseas equivalent.
      • IT courses: a bachelor's in a related (cognate) field with at least a 55% average. Information Systems courses: a bachelor's in any field with at least 55%.
      • MBA: a business or management bachelor's with at least 70%, or any bachelor's with 70% plus two years' relevant work experience, or a 70% graduate certificate in business, or five years' professional experience including management. All MBA applicants are interviewed.
      • Master of Accounting: a bachelor's plus completed equivalents of ACC700, BUS702 and BUS700.

      Documents

      • KOI student application form
      • Certified, notarised or attested copy of your passport photo and signature pages
      • Certified copies of all transcripts and completion certificates
      • Certified proof of English (IELTS Academic, PTE, TOEFL iBT or CAE)
      • Change-of-name documents if your name differs across records
      • A$250 non-refundable enrolment fee

      Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.

      English language requirements

      English requirements
      Test or routeTypical requirement
      IELTS AcademicDiploma and bachelor's: 6.0 with no band below 5.5. Postgraduate: 6.5 with no band below 6.0. IELTS General is not accepted.
      PTEDiploma and bachelor's: 50 with no band below 42. Postgraduate: 58 with no band below 50.
      TOEFL iBTTests from 21 January 2026: 3.5 overall for diploma and bachelor's, 4 overall for postgraduate, with section minimums. Older-format scores: 60 (UG) or 80 (PG).
      Cambridge (CAE)169 (no band below 162) for UG; 176 (no band below 169) for PG. Scores are valid for two years.
      DuolingoNot listed on KOI's entry requirements page.

      Accommodation and living costs

      KOI has no student housing of its own. Its accommodation page lists private providers in Sydney, including homestays, shared houses, Iglu Chatswood and Link2 Student Living near Central Station, but it does not publish prices.

      Accommodation and living costs
      ItemIn AUDApprox. in rupees

      Campus and location

      KOI teaches from two city campuses in New South Wales.

      • Sydney: Levels 7–11, 11 York Street, Wynyard Green, in the central business district.
      • Newcastle: Ground Floor and Level 1, 59 Darby Street, Cooks Hill.
      • Teaching runs in trimesters, with three intakes a year.
      • The same fee schedule applies at both campuses.

      Careers and graduate outcomes

      KOI's courses are aimed at accounting, business and IT roles. It publishes no graduate outcome figures on the pages we checked. See our Australia guide for post-study work rules.

      Graduate outcomes
      WhatFigureSource

      Studying in Australia

      Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in Australia. Our country guide covers them in detail:

      Other universities in Australia

      Compare all universities in Australia

      FAQs

      How much does KOI cost for Indian students?

      On KOI's 2026 fee schedule, bachelor's degrees cost A$43,500 to A$46,500 in total (about A$14,500 to A$15,500 a year), the MBA costs A$25,500 in total and the Master of IT costs A$36,000 in total. There is also a A$250 enrolment fee.

      When can I start at KOI?

      KOI has three intakes a year. In 2027 courses start on 1 March, 28 June and 25 October.

      What IELTS score does KOI need?

      IELTS Academic 6.0 with no band below 5.5 for diplomas and bachelor's degrees, and 6.5 with no band below 6.0 for postgraduate courses. PTE, TOEFL iBT and Cambridge are also accepted.

      Does KOI offer scholarships?

      We did not find scholarships for international students on KOI's pages. Ask KOI's admissions team before you apply.

      Sources

      Talk to our counsellor

      Ask about courses, fees, scholarships and your eligibility for King's Own Institute.

      IELTS / PTE status
      Best way to reach you

      #YouInspireUs

      Stories from our students and parents

      #StudyAbroadSample
      ft. Student nameMSc Data Science · United Kingdom

      #1 Student name

      MSc Data Science, United Kingdom · Study Abroad

      Sample text. A short story in the student's own words: how the counsellor helped them shortlist universities, understand the full cost and prepare their visa file.

      Design preview: sample cards show where real stories will appear. They are replaced by real students' stories (with written consent) before launch.

      All student stories