About the university
The Jazz Music Institute (JMI) is a small private college in Bowen Hills, Brisbane, that teaches only jazz performance. It offers a three-year Bachelor of Music in Jazz Performance and a one-year Diploma of Music in Jazz Performance, both open to international students.
Indian musicians who want focused, performance-based jazz training look at JMI. Every applicant must pass an audition, in person or by Zoom, covering repertoire, scales and arpeggios, and a theory and aural test. JMI is a specialist college and is not in university rankings.
- Type
- Private specialist jazz music college (TEQSA PRV12084)
- CRICOS provider code
- 03720K
- Campus
- 1/47 Brookes Street, Bowen Hills, Brisbane
- Courses
- Bachelor of Music in Jazz Performance (3 years) and Diploma of Music in Jazz Performance (1 year)
- Minimum age
- Over 18 before applying
Rankings
Popular courses with Indian students
- Undergraduate
Bachelor of Music in Jazz Performance
- Fee / year
- A$35,000
- Duration
- 3 years full time (6 semesters); Brisbane
- Intakes
- Not stated on the pages we checked; ask JMI
- English
- IELTS 6.0 overall with no band below 5.5 (taken within 24 months of the start date)
- Undergraduate
Diploma of Music in Jazz Performance
- Fee / year
- A$35,000
- Duration
- 1 year full time (2 semesters); Brisbane
- Intakes
- Not stated on the pages we checked; ask JMI
- English
- IELTS 6.0 overall with no band below 5.5 (taken within 24 months of the start date)
Fees for international students
| Course | Duration | Fee / year (AUD) | Approx. in rupees |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bachelor of Music in Jazz Performance | 3 years full time (6 semesters); Brisbane | A$35,000 | ≈ ₹22.8 lakh |
| Diploma of Music in Jazz Performance | 1 year full time (2 semesters); Brisbane | A$35,000 | ≈ ₹22.8 lakh |
Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.
Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at Jazz Music Institute with similar universities in Australia.
Scholarships
Admission requirements
Undergraduate
- Applicants must be over 18 before applying.
- An audition (in person in Brisbane or by Zoom) with repertoire from Blues and Standards lists, scales and arpeggios, and a theory and aural exam.
- An interview after the application form is submitted.
Postgraduate
Documents
- International Student Application Form
- Certified copy of IELTS results (no more than 24 months old)
- Audition video or in-person audition
- Passport
- First semester's tuition paid before the Confirmation of Enrolment is issued
Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.
English language requirements
| Test or route | Typical requirement |
|---|---|
| IELTS | 6.0 overall with no band below 5.5; the only test listed in JMI's entry requirements. |
| Test age | Results must be no more than 24 months old at the course start date. |
| Short of the score? | Complete an English for Academic Purposes course (for example at UQ or QUT) and re-sit IELTS. |
Accommodation and living costs
JMI's pages we checked do not offer student housing or publish rents. Students arrange their own housing in Brisbane.
| Item | In AUD | Approx. in rupees |
|---|
Campus and location
JMI teaches on one campus at 1/47 Brookes Street, Bowen Hills, in Brisbane.
- Specialist jazz performance teaching only.
- Auditions in person or online by Zoom.
- Two semesters a year.
Careers and graduate outcomes
JMI trains performing jazz musicians. The pages we checked publish no graduate outcome figures. See our Australia guide for post-study work rules.
| What | Figure | Source |
|---|
Studying in Australia
Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in Australia. Our country guide covers them in detail:
Other universities in Australia

Photo: Bob Tan, CC BY 4.0 PublicThe University of Melbourne (official website, opens in a new tab)
Melbourne, Australia
Often chosen for Life Sciences, Law, Business & Management

Photo: Rob Deutscher from Melbourne, Australia, CC BY 2.0 PublicMonash University (official website, opens in a new tab)
Melbourne, Australia
Often chosen for Medicine & Health Sciences, Engineering, Data Science & AI

Photo: J Bar, CC BY-SA 3.0 PublicUNSW Sydney (official website, opens in a new tab)
Sydney, Australia
Often chosen for Engineering, Computer Science & IT, Finance & Accounting

Photo: Donaldytong, Public domain PublicDeakin University (official website, opens in a new tab)
Melbourne and Geelong, Australia
Often chosen for Nursing & Allied Health, Computer Science & IT, Business & Management

Photo: No machine-readable author provided. KittySaturn~commonswiki assumed (based o…, Public domain PublicThe University of Sydney (official website, opens in a new tab)
Sydney, Australia
Often chosen for Business & Management, Engineering, Medicine & Health Sciences

Photo: BobTanGo, CC BY 4.0 PublicThe University of Queensland (official website, opens in a new tab)
Brisbane, Australia
Often chosen for Life Sciences, Engineering, Business & Management
FAQs
How much does JMI cost for Indian students?
For 2027 entry, tuition is A$17,500 per semester: A$35,000 a year, A$105,000 for the three-year bachelor's degree and A$35,000 for the one-year diploma.
Do I need to audition?
Yes. Every applicant auditions, in Brisbane or online by Zoom, and sits a theory and aural test.
Are there scholarships?
JMI's international page mentions partial tuition fee support of up to A$8,000 but gives no other details. Ask JMI.
Sources
- JMI: home page (opens in a new tab)
- JMI: international students (opens in a new tab)
- JMI: International Students Fees & Structure, 2027 entry (PDF) (opens in a new tab)
- JMI: Entry Requirements (PDF) (opens in a new tab)
Official website: jmi.edu.au (opens in a new tab)
Check the latest details
