Skip to content
Admission Mantra
The Sydney Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge across the harbour water, with the city skyline on the right on a partly cloudy morning.
Flag of Australia

Deakin College

Melbourne, Australia · Private · Est. Not stated on the pages reviewed

Updated 28 Oct 2026

Established

Not stated on the pages reviewed

Type

Private

Location

Melbourne, Australia

Ranking

Not ranked

Photo: DXR, CC BY-SA 4.0

About the university

Deakin College is the pathway college for Deakin University, teaching on Deakin's Melbourne Burwood and Geelong campuses. Its diplomas are equivalent to the first year of a Deakin degree: pass with the required grades and you enter the second year of a Deakin bachelor's degree in IT, business, commerce, engineering, health or science. It also runs a Foundation Program and a Masters Qualifying Program.

Indian students use it when they narrowly miss direct entry to Deakin. Note that Indian citizens need IELTS 6.0 (no band below 5.5) for diplomas, higher than the general 5.5. Diplomas take 8 or 12 months and there are three intakes a year.

Type
Private pathway college to Deakin University (operated by Melbourne Institute of Business and Technology; part of Navitas)
CRICOS provider code
01590J
Campuses
Melbourne Burwood, Geelong Waurn Ponds and Geelong Waterfront
Students progressed to Deakin degrees
More than 22,000
Pathways
Into more than 50 Deakin bachelor's degrees
Intakes
March, June and October

Rankings

    Popular courses with Indian students

    View all 5 courses with filters

    Fees for international students

    Course fees
    CourseDurationFee / year (AUD)Approx. in rupees
    Diploma of Information Technology8 or 12 monthsA$37,600≈ ₹24.4 lakh
    Diploma of Commerce8 or 12 monthsA$40,000≈ ₹26 lakh
    Diploma of Business8 or 12 monthsA$40,000≈ ₹26 lakh
    Diploma of Engineering8 months (standard)A$38,400≈ ₹25 lakh
    Diploma of Health Sciences8 or 12 monthsA$35,200≈ ₹22.9 lakh

    Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.

    Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at Deakin College with similar universities in Australia.

    Scholarships

    • PG pathway (Masters Qualifying Program)

      Deakin College MQP Scholarship

      Value: 15% of MQP tuition fees

      Eligibility: International students starting the MQP in 2026 or 2027. No application needed.

      Official page (opens in a new tab)
    • All programmes

      Navitas Family Bursary

      Value: 10% of tuition for up to 8 units

      Eligibility: The second and later family members studying at a Navitas institution at the same time. Apply with the family bursary form.

      Official page (opens in a new tab)

    Admission requirements

    Undergraduate

    • Diplomas need Year 12 or an equivalent qualification; grade requirements by country are on Deakin College's international academic entry requirements page.
    • Engineering expects senior school maths (Australian students without it take an extra maths unit).
    • Moving into Year 2 at Deakin depends on passing the diploma with the required grades (for example, a WAM of 50 for engineering).

    Postgraduate

    • Masters Qualifying Program for graduates who do not meet direct entry to a Deakin master's degree.

    Documents

    • Passport
    • Class 10 and Class 12 mark sheets
    • English test score report (no more than two years old)
    • Genuine Student documents and financial evidence
    • Overseas Student Health Cover

    Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.

    English language requirements

    English requirements
    Test or routeTypical requirement
    Diplomas, Indian citizensIELTS Academic 6.0 with no band below 5.5, or equivalent
    Diplomas, general requirementIELTS 5.5 (no band below 5.0); PTE Academic 42 (no skill below 36); TOEFL iBT 51; Duolingo 100 (no subscore below 90)
    Masters Qualifying ProgramIELTS 6.0 (no band below 5.5); PTE Academic 50 (no skill below 42); TOEFL iBT 69
    Language Development ModuleA free, compulsory English unit in the first trimester unless exempt (for example, with IELTS 6.0 or above)

    Accommodation and living costs

    Deakin College students can apply for Deakin University's on-campus residences at Burwood, Waurn Ponds and Waterfront (very limited for 2026), or find shared housing and rentals through Deakin's Houseme database. The accommodation page publishes no prices.

    Accommodation and living costs
    ItemIn AUDApprox. in rupees

    Campus and location

    Deakin College teaches on Deakin University's campuses, so students use Deakin's libraries and facilities from the start.

    • Melbourne Burwood: business, commerce, IT, health and engineering diplomas.
    • Geelong Waurn Ponds: engineering and health sciences.
    • Geelong Waterfront: commerce.
    • Three intakes a year: March, June and October.

    Careers and graduate outcomes

    Deakin College is a pathway, so careers depend on the Deakin degree you move on to. See our Australia guide for post-study work rules, and the Deakin University page for its graduate outcomes.

    Graduate outcomes
    WhatFigureSource

    Studying in Australia

    Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in Australia. Our country guide covers them in detail:

    Other universities in Australia

    Compare all universities in Australia

    FAQs

    How much does a Deakin College diploma cost?

    For 2026, diplomas cost A$35,200 (health sciences) to A$40,000 (business or commerce) in total. There is also a A$225 enrolment fee. Fees are reviewed each year.

    What IELTS score do Indian students need?

    Deakin College asks Indian citizens for IELTS Academic 6.0 with no band below 5.5 (or equivalent) for diplomas, and 6.0 with no band below 5.5 for the Masters Qualifying Program.

    Will I go into the second year at Deakin?

    Deakin College says its diplomas are equivalent to the first year of a Deakin degree and can lead to Year 2, if you pass with the grades your degree requires.

    Are there scholarships for Indian students?

    Its main diploma scholarship is for listed Asian countries that do not include India. The MQP Scholarship (15% off) is open to all international MQP students.

    Sources

    Talk to our counsellor

    Ask about courses, fees, scholarships and your eligibility for Deakin College.

    IELTS / PTE status
    Best way to reach you

    #YouInspireUs

    Stories from our students and parents

    #StudyAbroadSample
    ft. Student nameMSc Data Science · United Kingdom

    #1 Student name

    MSc Data Science, United Kingdom · Study Abroad

    Sample text. A short story in the student's own words: how the counsellor helped them shortlist universities, understand the full cost and prepare their visa file.

    Design preview: sample cards show where real stories will appear. They are replaced by real students' stories (with written consent) before launch.

    All student stories