Skip to content
Admission Mantra
The Sydney Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge across the harbour water, with the city skyline on the right on a partly cloudy morning.
Flag of Australia

Chisholm Institute

Melbourne, Australia · Public · Est. Not stated on the pages reviewed

Updated 28 Oct 2026

Established

Not stated on the pages reviewed

Type

Public

Location

Melbourne, Australia

Ranking

Not ranked

Photo: DXR, CC BY-SA 4.0

About the university

Chisholm Institute is a large public TAFE in Melbourne's south-east, with its main campuses at Dandenong, Berwick and Frankston. Alongside vocational certificates and diplomas, its Higher Education College teaches bachelor's degrees in information technology (AI and data science, cyber security), engineering technology, business, psychology and community mental health. Indian students mostly look at its IT degrees, the Diploma of Nursing and engineering technology.

Its degrees cost less than most Melbourne universities, with 2027 indicative tuition of about A$21,000–A$25,000 a year, and there is no application fee. Classes are small and practical, and many courses include work placements. You must be 18 or older to start.

Type
Public TAFE institute with a Higher Education College (TEQSA PRV12123, RTO 0260)
CRICOS provider code
00881F
Campuses
Dandenong, Berwick, Frankston, Cranbourne, Springvale, Bass Coast and Mornington Peninsula (south-east Melbourne)
Courses for international students
12, from Certificate III to bachelor's degrees
Intakes
Degrees: March and July; diplomas: January, February or July depending on the course
Application fee
None (no enrolment or application charges)

Rankings

    Popular courses with Indian students

    View all 8 courses with filters

    Fees for international students

    Course fees
    CourseDurationFee / year (AUD)Approx. in rupees
    Bachelor of Information Technology (Artificial Intelligence & Data Science)3 years full-timeA$22,320≈ ₹14.5 lakh
    Bachelor of Information Technology (Cyber Security)3 years full-time (288 credit points)A$21,240≈ ₹13.8 lakh
    Diploma of Nursing (HLT54121)1.5 years full-timeA$23,346≈ ₹15.2 lakh
    Bachelor of Engineering Technology (Mechatronics)3 years full-timeA$24,744≈ ₹16.1 lakh
    Bachelor of Engineering Technology (Mechanical and Manufacturing)3 years full-timeA$24,744≈ ₹16.1 lakh
    Bachelor of Psychology2 years full-time (entry with a relevant diploma or one year of higher education)A$23,448≈ ₹15.2 lakh
    Bachelor of Community Mental Health, Alcohol and Other Drugs3 years full-timeA$24,744≈ ₹16.1 lakh
    Diploma of Community Services (CHC52025)1.5 years full-timeA$13,518≈ ₹8.8 lakh

    Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.

    Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at Chisholm Institute with similar universities in Australia.

    Scholarships

    • UG (continuing degree students)

      Higher Education Academic Merit Scholarship

      Value: A$2,000 one-off credit towards future tuition; 20 awards

      Eligibility: Full-fee international students on a Student visa who have completed at least one semester of a degree with a distinction average and no fails. The 2026 round closed on 12 October 2026.

      Official page (opens in a new tab)

    Admission requirements

    Undergraduate

    • Australian Year 12 (VCE) or an equivalent overseas qualification such as Class 12; most degrees set no minimum ATAR.
    • Engineering technology degrees need maths equivalent to VCE Mathematical Methods or Specialist Mathematics.
    • Bachelor of Psychology: a completed relevant diploma or at least one year of higher education.
    • You must be 18 or older, may be asked to sit a literacy and numeracy test, and must meet the Genuine Student requirement.

    Postgraduate

    • Chisholm's list of courses for international students has no postgraduate courses.

    Documents

    • Completed International Student Application Form
    • Passport
    • Class 10 and Class 12 mark sheets (and any diploma or degree transcripts)
    • IELTS or PTE Academic score report
    • Genuine Student documents and financial evidence
    • Police check and Working with Children Check for nursing and community courses

    Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.

    English language requirements

    English requirements
    Test or routeTypical requirement
    Bachelor's degreesIELTS Academic 6.0 overall, no band below 5.5 (Bachelor of Psychology: 6.5, no band below 6.0)
    Certificates and diplomasIELTS Academic 6.0 overall; band minimums are on each course page
    Diploma of NursingIELTS Academic 7.0 or PTE Academic, as set by the nursing regulator; see the course page
    Accepted testsIELTS (including One Skill Retake) and PTE Academic. TOEFL is not listed.

    Accommodation and living costs

    Chisholm has no halls of its own. It can book short-term arrival accommodation, points over-18s to the Australian Homestay Network for homestays, and has an arrangement for Fedliving residences on the Berwick campus. Most students rent privately within an hour of their campus.

    Accommodation and living costs
    ItemIn AUDApprox. in rupees
    Short-term hostel or budget hotel on arrivalPlus a non-refundable A$100 placement feeA$70–100per night≈ ₹4,550 – ₹6,500
    Private rental or shared housingBond of up to six weeks' rent; Chisholm says this is a guide onlyA$865–2,500per month≈ ₹56,225 – ₹1.6 lakh

    Campus and location

    Chisholm's campuses are spread across south-east Melbourne. Degrees for international students are taught mainly at Dandenong, Berwick and Frankston.

    • Dandenong: IT, engineering technology and community services.
    • Berwick: community mental health and nursing; Fedliving residences on site.
    • Frankston: psychology and nursing.
    • Practical placements are built into nursing, community services and early childhood courses.

    Careers and graduate outcomes

    Chisholm's courses are built around jobs in IT, engineering, nursing, community services and mental health, with placements in many of them. Diploma of Nursing graduates can apply to register as enrolled nurses if they meet the regulator's rules. Chisholm publishes no graduate outcome figures on the pages reviewed. See our Australia guide for post-study work rules.

    Graduate outcomes
    WhatFigureSource

    Studying in Australia

    Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in Australia. Our country guide covers them in detail:

    Other universities in Australia

    Compare all universities in Australia

    FAQs

    How much does a degree at Chisholm cost?

    Indicative 2027 tuition is A$22,320 a year for IT (AI and data science) and A$24,744 a year for engineering technology. Fees are paid each semester, and there is no application fee.

    What IELTS score do I need?

    Most degrees ask for IELTS Academic 6.0 with no band below 5.5. The Diploma of Nursing needs 7.0, and the Bachelor of Psychology 6.5.

    When can I start?

    Degrees start in March and July. The Diploma of Nursing starts in January, and the Diploma of Community Services in February or July.

    Are there scholarships?

    Continuing degree students with a distinction average can apply for a A$2,000 Academic Merit Scholarship; there are 20 a year.

    Sources

    Talk to our counsellor

    Ask about courses, fees, scholarships and your eligibility for Chisholm Institute.

    IELTS / PTE status
    Best way to reach you

    #YouInspireUs

    Stories from our students and parents

    #StudyAbroadSample
    ft. Student nameMSc Data Science · United Kingdom

    #1 Student name

    MSc Data Science, United Kingdom · Study Abroad

    Sample text. A short story in the student's own words: how the counsellor helped them shortlist universities, understand the full cost and prepare their visa file.

    Design preview: sample cards show where real stories will appear. They are replaced by real students' stories (with written consent) before launch.

    All student stories