Skip to content
Admission Mantra
Campus of Australian Film Television and Radio School
Flag of Australia

Australian Film Television and Radio School

Sydney, Australia · Public · Est. Not stated on the pages reviewed

Updated 28 Oct 2026

Talk to our counsellorCall usOfficial website (opens in a new tab)

Established

Not stated on the pages reviewed

Type

Public

Location

Sydney, Australia

Ranking

Not ranked

Photo: Shkuru Afshar, CC BY-SA 4.0

About the university

The Australian Film Television and Radio School (AFTRS) is Australia's national screen and audio school, based in Sydney. It teaches a Bachelor of Arts Screen: Production, a Graduate Diploma in Radio and Podcasting and master's degrees in screen, plus many short courses. AFTRS says it is the only Australian institution to appear regularly on The Hollywood Reporter's list of top film schools.

For Indian students the choice is narrow: AFTRS says it currently accepts international students only into the one-year Master of Arts Screen: Business, which covers screen finance, leadership and entrepreneurship. International applicants are not eligible for AFTRS scholarships and need IELTS 7.0.

Type
Australia's national screen and audio school (TEQSA PRV12011)
CRICOS provider code
03662D
Award courses
Bachelor of Arts Screen: Production, Graduate Diploma in Radio and Podcasting, Master of Arts Screen, Master of Arts Screen: Business
Open to international students
Master of Arts Screen: Business only (as stated by AFTRS)
International application deadline
13 October 2026 for the next Master of Arts Screen: Business intake

Rankings

    Popular courses with Indian students

    View all 1 courses with filters

    Fees for international students

    Course fees
    CourseDurationFee / year (AUD)Approx. in rupees
    Master of Arts Screen: Business1 year (full time)A$64,944≈ ₹42.2 lakh

    Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.

    Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at Australian Film Television and Radio School with similar universities in Australia.

    Scholarships

      Admission requirements

      Undergraduate

      • AFTRS's Bachelor of Arts Screen: Production is not currently open to international students.

      Postgraduate

      • Master of Arts Screen: Business: a relevant bachelor's degree or higher, or equivalent work experience or training.
      • Three application tasks: a personal statement (up to 500 words), a CV (up to three pages) and a business project proposal.
      • International applicants must attend an interview and be 18 or over by the closing date.

      Documents

      • Valid passport
      • Degree certificate and transcripts (with certified English translations where needed)
      • Personal statement, CV and business project proposal
      • IELTS Academic (or equivalent) result taken within two years of your visa application
      • Proof of financial capacity and OSHC for the visa

      Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.

      English language requirements

      English requirements
      Test or routeTypical requirement
      IELTS Academic7.0 overall, or an equivalent approved test. A One Skill Retest may be accepted.
      Test rulesThe test must be taken within two years of lodging your visa application. Online or at-home tests are not accepted for the visa.
      ExemptionsExemption categories exist; check the course page before booking a test.

      Accommodation and living costs

      AFTRS does not offer student housing and lists no accommodation prices. Its international page quotes the Home Affairs living-cost guide of at least A$29,710 a year for a single student.

      Accommodation and living costs
      ItemIn AUDApprox. in rupees
      Living costs (Home Affairs guide quoted by AFTRS)Single student; about A$2,475 a monthA$29,710per year≈ ₹19.3 lakh
      Suggested funds on arrivalBooks, rental bond and furnitureA$2,000one-off≈ ₹1.3 lakh

      Campus and location

      AFTRS teaches from its Sydney campus, and the Master of Arts Screen: Business can be taken on campus, online or as a mix, with one to four subjects a semester.

      • Australia's national screen and audio school.
      • Master of Arts Screen: Business covers financial management and modelling, strategic innovation and business planning for screen content.
      • Ends with a capstone project; electives in global screen business, creative arts management and project development.
      • New international students pay the first semester's fee as a deposit before the CoE is issued.

      Careers and graduate outcomes

      The Master of Arts Screen: Business is aimed at producers, executives and entrepreneurs in the screen industry. AFTRS publishes no graduate outcome figures on the pages reviewed. See our Australia guide for post-study work rules.

      Graduate outcomes
      WhatFigureSource

      Studying in Australia

      Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in Australia. Our country guide covers them in detail:

      Other universities in Australia

      Compare all universities in Australia

      FAQs

      Which AFTRS courses can Indian students apply for?

      AFTRS says it currently accepts international students only into the Master of Arts Screen: Business.

      How much does it cost?

      The course page shows an international fee of A$64,944 for the one-year course. International students must pay the first semester's fee as a deposit.

      Can I get a scholarship at AFTRS?

      No. The course page says international applicants are not eligible for AFTRS scholarships.

      What IELTS do I need?

      IELTS Academic 7.0 overall, or an equivalent approved test, taken within two years of your visa application.

      Sources

      1. AFTRS: home page (opens in a new tab)
      2. AFTRS: international students (opens in a new tab)
      3. AFTRS: fees (opens in a new tab)
      4. AFTRS: 2026 Fees Schedule (PDF) (opens in a new tab)
      5. AFTRS: Master of Arts Screen: Business (opens in a new tab)

      Official website: www.aftrs.edu.au (opens in a new tab)

      Check the latest details

      We researched this page on 28 Oct 2026. Fees, entry requirements and scholarships change every year, so confirm them on the university's website before you apply. Listing a university doesn't mean Admission Mantra represents it.

      Talk to our counsellor

      Ask about courses, fees, scholarships and your eligibility for Australian Film Television and Radio School.

      IELTS / PTE status
      Best way to reach you

      #YouInspireUs

      Stories from our students and parents

      #StudyAbroadSample
      ft. Student nameMSc Data Science · United Kingdom

      #1 Student name

      MSc Data Science, United Kingdom · Study Abroad

      Sample text. A short story in the student's own words: how the counsellor helped them shortlist universities, understand the full cost and prepare their visa file.

      Design preview: sample cards show where real stories will appear. They are replaced by real students' stories (with written consent) before launch.

      All student stories