Skip to content
Admission Mantra
The Sydney Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge across the harbour water, with the city skyline on the right on a partly cloudy morning.
Flag of Australia

Australian Academy of Music and Performing Arts

Sydney, Australia · Private · Est. Not stated on the pages reviewed

Updated 28 Oct 2026

Talk to our counsellorCall usOfficial website (opens in a new tab)

Established

Not stated on the pages reviewed

Type

Private

Location

Sydney, Australia

Ranking

Not ranked

Photo: DXR, CC BY-SA 4.0

About the university

The Australian Academy of Music and Performing Arts trades as AMPA and was formerly the International Conservatorium of Music (Aust). It is a small private performing arts school in Surry Hills, Sydney, teaching classical and contemporary music, music theatre, music production, composition and dance, from associate degrees to a Master of Music (Performance).

Indian students look at AMPA for two-year accelerated bachelor's degrees in music or dance, taught over six trimesters with weekly one-to-one lessons. Entry is by audition. AMPA is not a university and is not in world rankings, and its pages do not list English test scores, so ask AMPA before you book a test.

Type
Private Institute of Higher Education (TEQSA PRV12026), formerly the International Conservatorium of Music (Aust)
Trading name
Academy of Music and Performing Arts (AMPA)
CRICOS provider code
01108B
Campus
136 Chalmers Street, Surry Hills, Sydney (near Central Station)
Teaching year
Three trimesters a year for bachelor's degrees; January and July starts for graduate degrees
Entry
Audition (or portfolio for composition and production) and interview

Rankings

    Popular courses with Indian students

    View all 6 courses with filters

    Fees for international students

    Course fees
    CourseDurationFee / year (AUD)Approx. in rupees
    Bachelor of Music (Performance)2 years (6 trimesters, full time)A$39,300≈ ₹25.5 lakh
    Bachelor of Dance2 years (6 trimesters, full time)A$39,300≈ ₹25.5 lakh
    Associate Degree of Music (Performance)4 trimestersA$39,300≈ ₹25.5 lakh
    Master of Music (Performance)2 years (4 semesters, full time)A$26,200≈ ₹17 lakh
    Graduate Diploma of Music (Performance)1 year (2 semesters)A$26,200≈ ₹17 lakh
    Graduate Certificate in Music (Performance)1 semester (21 weeks)A$13,100≈ ₹8.5 lakh

    Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.

    Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at Australian Academy of Music and Performing Arts with similar universities in Australia.

    Scholarships

      Admission requirements

      Undergraduate

      • HSC or equivalent (such as Class 12), or at least one full-time year of tertiary study, or mature-age entry.
      • Performance audition, interview and a music knowledge assessment. Composition and production applicants send a portfolio.
      • International applicants can ask to audition by video.

      Postgraduate

      • A Bachelor of Music or an equivalent undergraduate music degree.
      • Entry by performance audition, or portfolio and interview.

      Documents

      • Valid passport
      • Class 10 and Class 12 mark sheets (degree transcripts for postgraduate)
      • Audition recording or portfolio (DAW files, scores, recordings) as relevant
      • English test result taken within 24 months of starting
      • Genuine Student statement and financial documents for the visa

      Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.

      English language requirements

      English requirements
      Test or routeTypical requirement
      Minimum requirementInternational applicants from non-English-speaking backgrounds must meet AMPA's minimum English requirement. The test list and scores were not shown on the pages we could read; ask admin@ampa.edu.au.
      ELICOS routesEntry Option 2: 10 weeks of ELICOS or an approved programme. Entry Option 3: 20 weeks of ELICOS.
      Test validityTests or qualifications must be taken within 24 months of the course start date.

      Accommodation and living costs

      AMPA has no student housing. Student Services can recommend accommodation in Sydney, and the campus is about two minutes' walk from Central Station.

      Accommodation and living costs
      ItemIn AUDApprox. in rupees

      Campus and location

      AMPA's single campus is at 136 Chalmers Street, Surry Hills, close to Central Station in Sydney, with a live performance theatre and studios.

      • Weekly one-to-one lessons: 60 minutes for principal study and 30 minutes for a second study.
      • Weekly masterclasses and recorded performance workshops in a live performance theatre.
      • Three major showcases a year plus ensemble performances.
      • Streams in classical and contemporary music, music theatre, production, composition and dance.

      Careers and graduate outcomes

      AMPA trains performers, composers, producers, choreographers and teachers. It publishes no graduate outcome figures on the pages reviewed. See our Australia guide for post-study work rules.

      Graduate outcomes
      WhatFigureSource

      Studying in Australia

      Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in Australia. Our country guide covers them in detail:

      Other universities in Australia

      Compare all universities in Australia

      FAQs

      How much does a music degree at AMPA cost?

      The Bachelor of Music and Bachelor of Dance are A$13,100 per trimester, or A$78,600 for the two-year course, on the March 2026 schedule. There is also a A$500 application fee and a A$300 enrolment fee per trimester.

      Do I need an audition?

      Yes. Entry is by audition and interview (or a portfolio for composition and production). International applicants can ask to audition by video.

      What English score do I need?

      AMPA sets a minimum English requirement but the scores were not shown on the pages we could read. Ask AMPA before booking IELTS or PTE; it also accepts 10 or 20 weeks of ELICOS as entry routes.

      Sources

      1. AMPA: international tuition fees (March 2026, PDF) (opens in a new tab)
      2. AMPA: international students (opens in a new tab)
      3. AMPA: how to apply (opens in a new tab)
      4. AMPA: classical music degree (opens in a new tab)
      5. AMPA: graduate degrees (opens in a new tab)
      6. TEQSA National Register: Australian Academy of Music and Performing Arts (opens in a new tab)

      Official website: ampa.edu.au (opens in a new tab)

      Check the latest details

      We researched this page on 28 Oct 2026. Fees, entry requirements and scholarships change every year, so confirm them on the university's website before you apply. Listing a university doesn't mean Admission Mantra represents it.

      Talk to our counsellor

      Ask about courses, fees, scholarships and your eligibility for Australian Academy of Music and Performing Arts.

      IELTS / PTE status
      Best way to reach you

      #YouInspireUs

      Stories from our students and parents

      #StudyAbroadSample
      ft. Student nameMSc Data Science · United Kingdom

      #1 Student name

      MSc Data Science, United Kingdom · Study Abroad

      Sample text. A short story in the student's own words: how the counsellor helped them shortlist universities, understand the full cost and prepare their visa file.

      Design preview: sample cards show where real stories will appear. They are replaced by real students' stories (with written consent) before launch.

      All student stories